Skip to content

Prof. Matlock Receives International Cognitive Science Prize

February 7, 2023

Cognitive science professor Teenie MatlockTeenie Matlock, Cognitive and Information Sciences professor and the McClatchy Chair in Communications, has been awarded the fourth Jeffrey L. Elman Prize for Scientific Achievement and Community Building — one of the highest honors in the Cognitive Science Society.

For Matlock, it’s a true honor to be selected for this prestigious international award.

“This recognition comes as a wonderful surprise,” she said. “It means a lot to me personally, given that I knew Jeff Elman for 30 years and always greatly admired his skills as a scientist, mentor and leader. He will always be known for his many valuable discoveries in cognitive science, and for being an insightful role model and leader.”

The annual Elman Prize “is given to cognitive scientists whose accomplishments exemplify the twin strands of scientific excellence and commitment to community-building and service that were so evident in Jeff Elman’s career.”